The Club History
Rich in history and tradition, the Camden Yacht Club (CYC) is situated in surroundings that are a unique blend of beauty and history.
In 1902, a group of local yachting enthusiasts, including Cyrus Curtis, T.J. French and Chauncy B. Borland met together to discuss a shared vision. Four years later, that shared vision resulted in the founding of the Camden Yacht Club, an organization dedicated to the promotion of all aspects of yachting. A few years later, nationally renowned architect, John Calvin Stevens, was hired to design the present-day shingle style clubhouse, with its oriental overtones and large porches, situated on what had earlier been the old lime kiln property on Bay View Street. In 1980, the clubhouse was placed on the National Historic Register.
During its early years, large steam yachts set the tone with annual, and very unique, motor yacht regattas. During the 1930s, CYC passed from the era of focusing on motor boats and steam yachts to one focused on sailing. The move from power to sail had arrived. The sleek and elegant HAJ boats had become the symbol of the new CYC.
“Proficiency in navigation and all matters pertaining to seamanship,” a principle upon which the club had been founded, led to the establishment in 1951 of a junior sailing program. Sixty-seven years later, this program continues to thrive.
Today the club, rich in tradition, continues to promote “all aspects of yachting” including education seminars, a fine sailing school, and a series of regattas and club sail/motor cruises around the Bay and beyond. Long-established traditions are valued by all members and CYC is well-known for its family friendly environment, social life and luncheons on the verandah.