King of Spain Series

© Alison Langley Photography

King of Spain Series

Reminder, this race is only open to CYC skippers

The King of Spain series consists of two pursuit races designed to last about three hours for the average boat. This race series is restricted to CYC member skippers and their boats. There are no restrictions on crew members.

The King of Spain Trophy is an impressive large silver cup, donated in memory of former CYC Regatta Committee Chairman, Dudley Wolfe. Mr. Wolfe had been presented the trophy by Alphonse, King of Spain, for his 2nd place finish in the 1928 Transatlantic Race to Santander, Spain. Dudley Wolfe’s sister, Mrs. Hind of the Clifford (Smith) Wolfe family, donated the cup to Camden Yacht Club and designated that it be used as a perpetual award and, as such, a two-race series is held every summer for CYC member PHRF boats. The yacht club started racing for this trophy in 2001. It is open to all members’ boats and is raced under PHRF rules, sportsmanship, and goodwill.

Dudley Wolfe was a member of the tragic 1939 American expedition, which attempted to make the first ascent of the world’s second-highest peak, K2, in the Himalayas. Mr. Wolfe died in that attempt on K2 in what was a controversial situation, as he was not an experienced climber, and his body was recovered only recently. In 2002, Dudley Wolfe’s remains were found by Jennifer Jordan and Jeff Rhoads who was on K2 producing a documentary The Women of K2. Jennifer Jordan is a friend of CYC member and former fleet captain, Tom Kiley.

All CYC handicap racing is conducted under the handicap ratings of PHRF NE. To obtain a certificate go to (Gulf of Maine Ocean Racing Association), join, and fill out the rating form. If you wish to race but do not have a current rating certificate, the Race Committee may at its sole discretion assign a rating to your boat. Repeated efforts to race without a currently valid certificate may result in an increased rating penalty assigned by the Race Committee.


2022 Winner — Tom Babbitt on Bravo

2022 Race Results - click here

Past winners:

2021 — Mark Scheffer on Legacy

2020 — Paul Rogers on Canty

For KOS overall results, click here

2019 — Galen and Sons on Tango

For KOS overall results, click here

2018 – Tom Kiley / Ry Hills on Snow Star

For KOS overall results, click here

2017 – Mark Scheffer on Legacy

For KOS overall results, click here

2016 – Tom Babbitt on Bravo

2015 – Galen and Susan Todd on Caliente

2014 – Lee Scheuer / Bob Bowden on Simon

2013 – Paul Rogers on Canty

2012 – Tom Kiley / Ry Hills on Snow Star

2011 – Tom Kiley / Ry Hills on Snow Star

2010 – Tom Babbitt on Bravo

2009 – Tom Babbitt on Bravo

2007 – Jack Deupree on Samadhi

2006 – Tom Babbitt on Bravo

2005 – Tom Kiley / Ry Hills on Snow Star

2004 – Bill Pattison on Pegasus

2003 – Paul Rogers on Canty 

2002 – Bill Pattison on Pegasus

2001 – Paul Rogers on Canty

For more information, contact Galen Todd, Fleet Captain at


Secondary address